Friday, 18 August 2017

Interview With Melle Amade and review of Sanctuary


I am delighted to be welcoming Melle Amade to the blog today for both an interview and a review of her book - Sanctuary. Here's a little bit about Melle:

I'm a Marketing Director who dictates novels on my 2-hour commute to work and manages 2 small children and a husband when I'm home. I have 2 novels and a novella published, with 3 more coming out this summer. 

And now onto the interview!

What made you want to be a writer?
I think I was a born storyteller, which doesn't necessarily mean I'm good just means it has always been the way I expressed myself. I began writing, producing and directing plays when I was eight and then over the years produced my work at the Sydney Opera House before I received my MFA in Film. Now I'm focused on telling stories in novel format.

What kind of writer are you: plan or not?
I go both ways. Sometimes I just have a story in my head and start telling it. Usually, those are the stories I have to go back and heavily edit. The smoothest experience is when I come up with a character and a situation, let that play out in my head for a month or so, then write it down in outline format before I write the full manuscript.

If you had the chance to write anywhere, where would you choose?
I write all over the world. From beaches in Greece to private jets to huts in Indonesia to my couch at home to suites overlooking Big Ben in London. For me, writing isn't a matter of location it's a matter of having time and space in my schedule.

What attracted you to your chosen genre?
I like kick ass heroes and the world not being what we think we are seeing but something more. There is excitement in discovering unexpected experiences and magic.

Do you prefer to type or hand write?
I actually dictate the first draft of everything. I have so little time in my day to write, dictating during my drive-time is the fastest way for me to get a story onto the page. Then I edit on the computer.

Do you have any hobbies?
I'm a marketing director by day and have a family with two small kids, so it's hard to squeeze hobbies in there with my publishing career. But travelling fits in with all of it really nicely and I also like run, meditate and do yoga. =)

What's your favourite kind of scene to write?
Emotional angst, I'd have to say. Usually when someone is deep in their feelings or hashing out their feelings on someone else. It's probably core to the reason that I became an author.


It’s survival of the fittest, but first you have to fit in.

Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her is driving away her friends and pulling her closer to the wrong boy. After all, it’s Aiden she has always secretly wanted, not Callum, who has barely spoken to her in the last year.

But, as her protected life unravels, she discovers the violent supernatural world that lurks in her quiet hometown and the ancient feuds that threaten to destroy both her friends and her family.


To save those she loves, Shae must succumb to her own fury and take on the Ravensgaard, the renegade warriors of the Order, but as the battle approaches her deepest fears are coming true, she’s becoming just like them. Shae's not sure she can afford the price she'll have to pay—her own humanity.


Sanctuary is a teen paranormal romance for fans of shifters and Gothic romance. Fans of Flightless Bird and White Raven will be enchanted by this strong female seeking truth in a world of secrets and mystery.
Amazon

My Review: 5 stars
This book was delightful! I was drawn in from the first page and was desperate to learn more about where her friends had been, why they were pulling away and what the story was with her mom and her temper. Desperate to find answers about her own feelings, she tries very hard to stay close to her friends. The book is exciting with so many twists and turns that I was hooked from the first page until the end. I read it in one sitting and thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommended!


You can follow Melle on Facebook or her website.

Join Joey here on the blog on Fridays for interviews, reviews and guest bloggers. If you'd be interested in doing any of those, you can contact Joey here.

No comments:

Post a comment