Friday, 29 September 2017

Interview with M. F. Lorson & review of The Hunter's Daughter

I'm delighted to be joined on the blog today by M. F. Lorson for both an interview and my review of her book - The Hunter's Daughter. Here's a little about the author:

I am a 33 year old Youth Services Librarian living and working in Eastern Oregon. When I am not at the library I am teaching creative writing and sewing to kids 18 and under. I love to run, write and craft.

And onto the interview!

 What made you want to be a writer?
I’ve always wanted to be one. I can remember being in the second grade with a folder just stuffed full of terrible short stories about orphans living off peaches cut into tiny pieces and divided amongst hundreds. I guess I was really interested in poverty...that and I had read the Boxcar Children way too many times.

What kind of books do you read for pleasure?
I love Young Adult Historical Fiction and Young Adult summer romance, but I ONLY read that in the as to keep it exciting.

What kind of writer are you: plan or not?
I usually have a plot concept in mind. The details in the ending are always as much a surprise to me as they are the reader. Which is to say…..I’ve never successfully written an outline. I like to think that keeps my work from being too formulaic.

How does your average writing time go?
I usually sit down for 20 to 30 minutes. If I’m really feeling it I will keep going if I’m struggling I’ll set a word count goal and do my best to hit that before I quit for the day.

What book/character of yours is your favourite?
Jordan from Delinquent is my favourite character. I love a good book boyfriend and I think he is totally crush worthy.

If you had the chance to write anywhere, where would you choose?
I want to get rich real bad so that I can write all over the place and call it “Research”. I definitely wouldn’t mind starting somewhere warm so lets say my first choice is…..Argentina?

What attracted you to your chosen genre?
I prefer to write what I prefer to read.

How have other writers influenced your own writing?
I usually read a little each night before bed. I try and pay attention to the way other writers set the scene, describe characters and how they use dialogue to move the story along. The authors I love are far better than me. I WISH I could be influenced by them. I’m mostly just envious.

Do you prefer to type or handwrite?

Do you have a writing playlist? Or do you prefer silence?
I can’t really focus with music.

Do you have any hobbies?
I like to run and read. Not terribly exciting but working as a librarian I don’t have to have too many hobbies. Work is my passion.

What's your favourite kind of scene to write?
Sigh...sad romance.

Would you ever like to branch out to a different genre?
My boyfriend and I have toyed with the idea of writing sports fiction for upper elementary students. I’m hoping to follow through with that.

What does your writing space look like?
Right now my writing space is my dining room table with a stack of Harry Potter Books serving as a makeshift stand up desk. My laptop goes on top the books, my three week old goes in the baby sling and I spend the duration of my writing swaying slowly back in forth in deep prayer that she falls asleep!

In the rodeo town of Pendleton, Oregon 17 year old Maura lives with her 8 year old sister and single father Mike. When Mike’s diabetes threatens to take his foot he decides to spend his final steps hunting in the Blue Mountains; leaving his children to fend for themselves.
Meanwhile, back at home Maura’s elderly alcoholic neighbor takes in his teenage grandson Alex. Before long Maura finds herself falling in love while navigating nearly 30 days entirely unsupervised. Though nothing about Maura’s summer has been easy it becomes far more challenging when Mike’s return date comes and goes with no sign of her father. Determined to bring Mike home she and Alex venture into the wilderness in search of the only real parent she has ever known. Maura has never doubted her father’s love but the deteriorating state of his health and the mental conflict that accompanies it has her wondering what she’ll do if it turns out she’s looking for a man who doesn’t want to be found.

The Hunter’s Daughter is intended for readers ages 12 and up and will appeal to those who enjoy teen realistic fiction in the vein of Sarah Dessen, Huntley Fitzpatrick and Simone Elkeles.
My review: 5 stars
This books starts with what seems to be an everyday life for Maura. Her younger sister is her responsibility, her mother long gone and her father crumbling before her eyes. Left along for 30 days while her father decides to go on a long trip out in the Blue Mountains, Maura soon finds herself drawing the attention of Alex, who's only in town for the summer. The book was beautifully written and an amazing story that had me crying for a happy ending. It was well told and switched between Alex's point of view and Maura's, along with a few from Mike's as well. I loved the way it opened up and developed and I loved it completely. Very good story and very enjoyable!
You can follow M. F. Lorson on Twitter, Facebook or her website.

*There will be no Friday interview next week as Joey will be at Darker. Grab your tickets here!*

Join Joey here on the blog on Fridays for interviews, reviews and guest bloggers. If you'd be interested in doing any of those, you can contact Joey here.

No comments:

Post a Comment